More news

More news

KU engineering grad Loral O’Hara becomes new NASA astronaut

LAWRENCE — When she was a kid growing up in Sugarland, Texas, Loral O’Hara’s second-grade class tracked the growth of tomato seeds flown aboard the Space Shuttle to compare them to tomatoes cultivated on Earth.

Loral O'Hara Live Q&A from International Space Station

LAWRENCE — An out-of-this-world conversation — quite literally — is coming to the University of Kansas.   Editor’s note: This event has been rescheduled for 2:25 p.m. Feb. 9. The story below reflects the new time and date for the event.

Loral O’Hara becomes fourth Jayhawk astronaut

KU Aerospace Engineering finalizing plans to launch KubeSat

A group of KU engineering students expects to launch a small satellite, called a CubeSat, aboard a NASA rocket later this year.

Aerospace engineering professor emeritus receives national recognition for career achievement

LAWRENCE — A longtime University of Kansas professor has been honored with an award to recognize his career achievements in aerospace engineering education.

KUAE Alumnus Cathy Downen Leads Gulfstream Certification Team

The linked article details Cathy Downen's excellence in directing Gulfstream's type certification program and celebrates her mentorship and guidance to women in aerospace engineering. KUAE is proud to count her as a Jayhawk.

KUAE Alumnus Tom Carr Awarded Flight Test Pilot Honor

Tom Carr (BSAE '77), Garmin director of flight operations and chief test pilot, received the Society of Experimental Test Pilot's 2020 Iven C. Kincheloe Award. Carr graduated with his B.S. in Aerospace Engineering from University of Kansas.  

KUAE Student Teams Achieve Three AIAA Design Awards

KUAE student teams won three awards in the 2019-2020 AIAA Design Competition.

Three KUAE Alumni Receive AIAA Sustained Service Awards

Three KUAE alumni--Dr. Willem Anemaat, Dr. Vicki Johnson, and Dr. David Levy--have been honored with 2021 AIAA Sustained Service Awards.

In Memoriam… James A. “Jack” Franklin (BSAE ’61, MSAE ’62)

KUAE mourns the loss of James A. “Jack” Franklin (BSAE ’61, MSAE ’62), a distinguished member of the KU Aerospace Engineering Honor Roll. Jack passed away at home on Jan 22, 2020 from complications of Parkinson’s disease.